||The person in charge must demonstrate knowledge of foodborne disease prevention.
One way to demonstrate knowledge is to become a certified Food Protection Manager by passing a test that is part of an accredited program.
||Optional at a state level. Mandatory in some counties.
|Approved Certification Exams
||ServSafe, Prometric, NRFSP and 360 Training
|Food Safety Training Requirement
||In some counties
||5 years statewide. Specific counties vary.
||Some local jurisdictions have their own training and certification requirements.
Please contact your local health authority for more information.
Prometric & ServSafe Certifications
- • First Time or Renewal
- • Instructor-led Class and Proctored Exam
- • 5 Languages Offered
2550 W. Union Hills Dr. Ste.100,
9520 W Palm Lane Room #106/ #108,
1625 W Fountainhead Parkway Room# 404,
9520 W Palm Lane Room #103,
And Many More!
Which Certification Exams are approved in Arizona?
Prometric, NRFSP, ServSafe and 360 Training are all approved certification exams in Arizona.
How long is the certificate valid for?
Certification is valid for 5 years statewide. However, some counties have their own specific requirements. For more information, please contact your local health department.
Do I have to register with the Environmental Health Services or get a card after I pass my exam?
This will depend on the city or county where you work. Maricopa County, for example, requires you to bring the original ServSafe or Prometric certificate of completion and a government issued ID to the Maricopa County Environmental Health Division and pay the license fee to receive your Certified Food Manager Identification. For more information, please contact your local health department.
Do I need to have a certified food protection manager employed before I open my business?
The law provides 90 days to ensure that a food facility has a certified food protection manager employed when a new business is started, change of ownership, or if the certified food protection manager leaves the business.