Register Now!
800-676-3121
Register Now!
800-676-3121

Pennsylvania Food Safety Certification

State Regulations The Food Employee Certification Act requires one supervisory employee per food facility to obtain a food safety certification by taking a ANSI-CFP nationally recognized food safety class.
Certification Exam Mandatory
Approved Certification Exams ServSafe, Prometric, NRFSP and 360 Training
Food Safety Training Requirement 16 hours
Certificate Renewal 5 years at a state level.
Additional Requirements Not all Retail Food Facilities in Pennsylvania are under the jurisdiction of the PA Department of Agriculture.

The counties of Allegheny, Bucks, Chester, Erie, Montgomery, and Philadelphia have local health departments who are the licensing authority within those jurisdictions:

If your establishment is, or will be, located in one of the above local health jurisdictions, please contact your local health department for more information.

Prometric Certification

  • • Online Training and Proctored Exam
  • • Over 1,100 Locations

Available Locations:

  • 4055 Monroeville Blvd. Bldg. 1 Suite 425 , Monroeville, PA, 15146
  • 5700 Corporate Dr. Pittsburgh Office/Research Park #280 , Pittsburgh, PA, 15237
  • 7200 Peach St. Summit Towne Center - Suite 440 , Erie, PA, 16509
  • 1100 N. Mountain Rd. , Harrisburg, PA, 17112
  • 2211 Mack Blvd. , Allentown, PA, 18103
  • 601 Walnut St. Curtis Center, Ste. 150 West , Philadelphia, PA, 19106

And Many More!

FAQs

Does the food manager need to be present at the food facility at all times?

The Certified Food Manager does not need to be on premises during all hours of business, but the law does require that the certified food manager be available during all hours of operation. When in the facility, the certified food manager must be the Person-in-Charge (PIC).

Is there a minimum hours of food safety training to obtain the certification?

Yes. Students must complete a 16 hour food safety certification course. Premier Food Safety offers the TAPS training, which satisfies the 16 hour requirement. Please check with your local health department for specific county requirements.

Do I need to have a certified food protection manager employed before I open my business?

New establishments will have 90 days to obtain their Food Manager Certification. Existing establishments which are not in compliance due to employee turnover or other loss of certified food manager shall have three months from the date of loss to comply.

Over 500,000 Satisfied Clients

  • subway Logo
  • mcdonalds Logo
  • elephant bar Logo
  • panda express Logo
  • ihop Logo
  • pfchangs Logo
  • dennys Logo