Fast. Simple. 3 Easy Steps.
Food Manager Certification classes have been postponed until May.
In the meantime, you can still register for our Food Manager online training.
Click here to learn more about what we are doing to protect you.
All food service employees of establishments licensed by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) Division of Hotels & Restaurants must complete food safety training from an approved provider. The Food Handlers Card is valid for 3 years and must be obtained within 60 days of hire. (Section 509.049, Florida Statutes)
What is the Florida Food Handlers Card?
The Florida Food Handlers Card is issued upon successful completion of an approved food safety training program, as required by rule 61C-4.023, F.A.C.
Who is considered a food handler in Florida?
Any person responsible for the storage, preparation, display, or serving of foods to the public in establishments regulated by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) is considered a food handler.
When do I need to get a Food Handlers Card?
You must get certified within 60 days of date of hire.
How much does it cost?
The cost is $6.95 per person, and it includes the training, the exam, and the Florida food handlers Card upon successfully passing the exam with a 70% or better. The entire process is done online, on a computer, and the certificate can be printed at home or from any computer that has a printer
How do I purchase training to get the Florida Food Handlers Card?
You can purchase online training by calling our toll-free number 800-676-3121 or through this registration page.
Is Premier Food Safety an Approved Training Provider?
Yes. Premier Food Safety in partnership with The New Habit (Florida Provider Number: 3913435) offers a program that is approved by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).
Am I required to bring my Florida Food Handlers Card to the DBPR?
No. Once you complete the training and pass the exam, we will submit your results to the Florida DBPR database of certified food service professionals.
Do I need to be employed in order to take this training?
Yes, your training will only be valid if you are already employed, since the name of the business you work for must be printed on your certificate.
How long is the training?
The online training takes approximately 90 minutes, followed by an exam.
Is there an exam?
Yes. Once you have reviewed the entire course, you will need to pass a 10-question exam with a score of 70% or higher.
I have a food handler card from another state. Is it valid in Florida?
No. If the establishment you work for is licensed by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, you must obtain a Florida Food Handlers Card from an approved training provider such as Premier Food Safety.
What information will be on your Food Handlers Card?
All Florida Food Handler certificates must include the following information:
When will I get my Food Handlers Certificate?
You will be able to print your Food Handlers Card as soon as you finish the training and pass the final exam with a score of at least 70%.
Do I have to complete the training all at once?
No, you may start training and review a few chapters, log out of your account and resume your training at a different time. All your progress will be saved.
I need to get my Food Handlers Card but I do not have a computer, what can I do?
Unfortunately, at the moment we only offer the Food Handlers training online; therefore you need a computer in order to get the certificate.
Here are a few suggestions to complete your training:
What if I don’t have a printer at home to print my Food Handlers Card?
If you don’t have access to a computer with a printer, you can still take the training online and, once you have passed the test, we can mail a printed copy of your Food Handlers Certificate for an additional fee of $5.
How long is the Food Handlers Certificate valid for?
Your Florida Food Handlers Card will be valid for 3 years from the date it was issued.
I work for multiple establishments. Do I need a Food Handlers Card for each one of them?
No. By receiving a certificate from an approved food safety training program, such as Premier Food Safety, you will have met the training criteria required by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
What if I change jobs?
Once issued, your certificate will be valid for 3 years, even if you start working for a different establishment. However, if you would like to have the name of the business in your certificate changed, please call our office to request a business name change for $2.
Where can I find detailed information about the current law?
To review section 509.049, Florida Statutes, please visit the following link: http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0509/0509.html
What documentation is my employer required to keep?
Your employer will ask for a copy of your certificate. Public food service establishments must maintain accurate records that all their food service employees have completed a food safety course from an accredited provider.
|Pricing For Food Handlers Card Online Training:|
|# of licenses||Cost Per Person||Special Pricing|
|1 - 19||$15.00||$6.95|
|20 - 99||$14.00||$5.95|
|100 +||Please click here to contact us for special pricing|