Food Manager Certification classes have been postponed until May.

In the meantime, you can still register for our Food Manager online training.

Click here to learn more about what we are doing to protect you.

Register Now!
Register Now!

Texas Food Manager Certification

State Regulations Food establishments, permitted by Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and handling, preparing, or serving exposed potentially hazardous foods, must employ a certified food manager.
The Food Manager Certification must be obtained by passing a department approved examination, such as ServSafe, Prometric, NRFSP and 360 Training.
Certification Exam Mandatory
Approved Certification Exams ServSafe, Prometric, NRFSP and 360 Training
Food Safety Training Requirement No
Certificate Renewal Every 5 years at a state level
Additional Requirements Some local jurisdictions have specific requirements, such as registering the Food Manager Certificate with the Health Department, or paying an additional fee for the issuance of a local Food Manager Certificate.

Prometric Certification

  • • Online Training and Proctored Exam
  • • Over 1,100 Locations


Which establishments are exempt from the Food Manager Certification requirement?

The following food establishments are exempt from the requirement:

(1) Establishments that handle only prepackaged food and do not package food

(2) Child care facilities

(3) Establishments that do not prepare or handle exposed potentially hazardous foods

(4) Nonprofit organizations

Do I need to keep a copy of the manager certification at the food establishment?

Yes, the original food manager certificate shall be posted in a location in the food establishment that is conspicuous to consumers.

I took my Food Manager Certification exam in a different state. Will my certificate be valid in Texas?

Yes. Food Manager Certification Examinations issued by training programs accredited through American National Standards Institute – Conference of Food Protection (ANSI-CFP) receive national reciprocity. However, please keep in mind that certain cities or counties have their own requirements, such as registering your certificate with the local health department. Please make sure to check with your local authority for any additional certification criteria.

Over a Million Satisfied Clients

  • subway Logo
  • mcdonalds Logo
  • elephant bar Logo
  • panda express Logo
  • ihop Logo
  • pfchangs Logo
  • dennys Logo